Webinar Calendar

Professional development is an ongoing process that is critical to ensuring that you are at your very best for the youth and families your agency serves. This comprehensive list includes free webinars that are sponsored by a range of organizations, including NCWWI. Please click the titles below to learn more about these upcoming events and to register.  

Miss a NCWWI Webinar? No problem! We've recorded them so they can be viewed at any time. Click here for a full listing of NCWWI Webinars.

Coercive Control: Practical Implications
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Hits : 11

3:00–4:15pm EDT; 2:00–3:15pm CDT; 1:00–2:15pm MDT; 12:00–1:15pm PDT; 11:00–12:15pm AKDT; 9:00–10:15  HAST

This webinar is hosted by Battered Women's Justice Project

Over the last two decades, England, Ireland, France, Scotland, and a number of other countries and thousands of service organizations world-wide have adapted coercive control as the framework for improving the response to interpersonal abuse and discarded definitions and practice models that narrowly emphasize violence or relegate the role of children to “witnesses.” What were the key frustrations with the justice and Refuge/Shelter response that led to the changes? What is the coercive control ‘framework?’ Is it applicable in the U.S.? Drawing on examples from his forensic caseload and his recent experiences abroad, Dr. Stark will introduce coercive control as a practical model to improve assessment with women and children and as a political model to address violence against women as a “liberty crime."

Register here: https://events-na1.adobeconnect.com/content/connect/c1/2361243497/en/events/event/shared/2363085293/event_landing.html?connect-session=na1breezbhr7avpnw8mbbrsw&sco-id=3303695571&_charset_=utf-8