Breakthrough Series Collaborative

Cultivating a Sustainable Workforce: a NCWWI Breakthrough Series Collaborative

The National Child Welfare Workforce Institute (NCWWI) is launching Cultivating a Sustainable Workforce: a NCWWI Breakthrough Series Collaborative (BSC) to improve the recruitment and retention of the child welfare workforce. We are excited to offer this opportunity to six public and six tribal child welfare program sites to engage in a dynamic learning process that cultivates a healthy, equitable, sustainable workforce.

NCWWI’s multidisciplinary team will implement two parallel Breakthrough Series Collaboratives (BSC), one to support tribal child welfare programs, and another to support state/county child welfare jurisdictions. To be considered, program sites must identify a senior leader who is committed to removing barriers and supporting changes; value justice, equity, and inclusion; and be prepared, during the designated 18 months (January 2023 through June 2024), to:

  • Convene and support a team of 6-8 child welfare professionals
  • Implement and test strategies at their program site
  • Collect and share agreed-upon metrics to track progress and contribute to the collaborative learning process
  • Participate in three two-day in-person meetings (“learning sessions”), monthly conference calls with all participating program sites, bi-monthly calls with cross-site affinity groups, and regular site team meetings

Please access the following resources for more information and to apply to participate:

Contact Liz Smith at for more information or to attend a Q & A session.