Webinars

OFA Webinar: TANF and Food Insecurity: Supporting Vulnerable Families in the Time of COVID-19
Tuesday, December 01, 2020
Hits : 41

1:00–2:30pm EST; 12:00–1:30pm CST; 11:00am–12:30pm MST; 10:00–11:30am PST; 9:00–10:30am AKST; 8:00–9:30am HAST

This webinar is hosted by Office of Family Assistance

The Office of Family Assistance will host a free PeerTA webinar on Tuesday, December 1, 2020 from 1:00 to 2:30 p.m. ET. A study by the Urban Institute found that as of May 2020, two months into the COVID-19 pandemic, more than one in six adults (17.7%) and more than one in five parents living with children (21.8%) experienced food insecurity during the prior 30 days. Further, adults and families of color experienced food insecurity at higher rates than their peers. Public benefits programs such as the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), and the National School Lunch and Breakfast Programs are critical resources for TANF families mitigating food insecurity during this time. Since most TANF families (84.3%) also receive SNAP benefits and other support, coordination between programs can reduce administrative burdens for participants, increasing the likelihood that participants will be able to access and receive the full suite of supportive services. Additionally, TANF partnerships with charitable organizations and food banks can help to reduce food insecurity and fill critical gaps for TANF families.

Register here: https://peerta.acf.hhs.gov/content/ofa-webinar-tanf-and-food-insecurity-supporting-vulnerable-families-time-covid-19