Webinars

Strengthening Families Using a Racial Equity Lens (Part 1 of 2)
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Hits : 2075

4:00–5:30pm EDT; 3:00–4:30pm CDT; 2:00–3:30pm MDT; 1:00–2:30pm PDT; 12:00–1:30pm AKDT; 10:00–11:30  HAST

This webinar is hosted by The California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare

Professionals in the child welfare system should be guided by one main goal: Strengthen Families. Data shows that families of color are disproportionately represented in the foster care system, as well as, experience poorer outcomes. This virtual webinar will discuss the issues illumined by the data, and provide some historical context to our child welfare system. There will be a discussion of the differing types of racism and how they are at play in our global child welfare infrastructure. During this webinar, there will also be a discussion of policy implication on vulnerable families and the speaker will deconstruct power theory to show the importance of sharing power with the families we serve. Lastly, this webinar will involve the practice of examining how our mindsets impact our work. Attendees will be asked to consider their professional vision for their impact in child welfare and include a racial equity lens in how they approach their work.

Register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4_VkoPmZSQ-aUEM0C4l0xQ